top of page

THE DAY I WAS BORN...

As I celebrate another year today...my 43rd Birthday... I want to share with you and also learn for myself about THE DAY I WAS BORN.


AUGUST 30TH 1978

In the year 1978 on August 30th, a Wednesday... (on the 35th Wednesday and 242nd day of 1978) I was born to Miguel and Annette. The hour of my birth is unknown... my mother thinks it was about 1am or 2am.


I was born in the South Bronx, New York to teenage parents. My father was 16 years old, living with one of his older sisters in Manhattan. My grandmother Juana, had passed away when he was just a boy in 1974; 12 years old. She was 47 years old. My grandfather Rafael, although somewhat in the picture, wasn't capable of raising the younger children left behind. Each went to live separately, with their older siblings. My mother was 17 living with her parents, Vidal and Lydia.


Let's take a look at what was happening on that day and year I was born:


What was the #1 song on my birthday?

The #1 hit song in the U.S. was Grease by Frankie Valli as compiled by Billboard Hot 100 (September 2, 1978).

What were the top hits on August 30, 1978?

Other top hits on August 30, 1978 were Three Times A Lady by Commodores, Boogie Oogie Oogie by Taste Of Honey, and Dreadlock Holiday by 10cc.


What movies were playing?

The Silent Partner, directed by Daryl Duke was one of the most viewed movies released in 1978. Other movies were The Paper Chase directed by James Bridges, Mysteries directed by Paul de Lussanet, French Quarter directed by Dennis Kane, and Avalanche directed by Corey Allen.


What games were out?

Cosmic Conflict or Tournament Table were the most popular videogames.


How many babies were born on August 30, 1978?

Base on the data published by the United Nations Population Division: The estimated number of babies born on 30th August 1978 was 335,996. The world population was 4,304,105,753.


What Generation was I born into?

I was born in the middle of Generation X.


Who was the US President on August 30, 1978?

On August 30, 1978 the US President was Jimmy Carter (Democrat).


Who was the UK Prime Minister on August 30, 1978?

On August 30, 1978 the UK Prime Minister was James Callaghan (Labour).


Who was the Pope on August 30, 1978?

On August 30, 1978 Pope John Paul I was leading the Catholic Church.


Today...

I have lived 15,706 days, 516 months, 376,955 hours and 22,617,359 minutes old.


What is my Zodiac Birth Sign?

I am a Virgo.


Who was born on this day?

Warren Buffett, investor, born in Omaha, Nebraska, U.S.

Cliff Lee, American baseball player, born in Benton, Arkansas.

Sinead Kerr, Irish figure skater, born in Dundee, United Kingdom.

Swizz Beatz, American record producer and rapper, also born in Bronx, New York.


If I had saved a Cent every day starting at age 5, then by now that person has accumulated $138.80. (not very much at all!)


In my research I did not find very much but it was fun to do and learned interesting facts! Let me know if you would like me to do yours or someone else's Birthday, THE DAY YOU WAS BORN.


Thanks for the read. Don't forget to comment, like and share. Enjoy some baby pictures of me!


BABY PORTRAIT OF ME, DATE UNKNOWN: EST 1978-1979, NEW YORK


MY BAPTISM, CHURCH OF ASCENSION, NEW YORK NEW YORK, FEB 23, 1980

FAR RIGHT: MY MOTHER

FAR LEFT: MY FATHER


MY FAVORITE PSALM


Psalm 139:13-16

(The Passion Translation)

You formed my innermost being, shaping my delicate inside

and my intricate outside,

and wove them all together in my mother’s womb.

I thank you, God, for making me so mysteriously complex!

Everything you do is marvelously breathtaking.

It simply amazes me to think about it!

How thoroughly you know me, Lord!

You even formed every bone in my body

when you created me in the secret place;

carefully, skillfully you shaped me from nothing to something.

You saw who you created me to be before I became me!

Before I’d ever seen the light of day,

the number of days you planned for me

were already recorded in your book.










bottom of page