top of page

A WIDOW IN MOURNING

The Widow by Anders Zorn

Anders Zorn 1860-1920. (Public Domain)


A Widow in Mourning

Exhausted. Drained. Worn. Consumed.

It is you. Only you.

You pull and pull from my soul.

You press and press on my heart.

You twist and twist, one by one, my emotions and cut every word like a sword piercing my flesh.


Let me alone! Leave me be!

Let me go free! Live free!

Stop tormenting me.

Keeping me imprisoned.

Mocking every step.

Judging every move.

Even in silence I am criticized, accused and condemned.

You never approve.

You flatter with your tongue but inwardly curse.

I am not a bride.

I am a widow in mourning.

Cover me in sackcloth and ash.

Burn me in the firey flames.

For I am tested again and again.

What is buried deep beneath will rise and will shine.

All glory be to my God! I am redeemed.


Written 3 January 2023

Marcy Bachelor


Their purpose is to prove that your faith is genuine. Even gold, which can be destroyed, is tested by fire; and so your faith, which is much more precious than gold, must also be tested, so that it may endure. Then you will receive praise and glory and honor on the Day when Jesus Christ is revealed. 1 Peter 1:7

Recent Posts

See All

POEMS BY JOSHUA BAEZ

My son as he penned these words did not know almost 7 years later, they would be chosen and spoken just feet away from his coffin...

bottom of page