top of page

POEMS BY JOSHUA BAEZ

Publisher's Note: Joshua's Visitation was on Friday, February 18 at Symonds-Madison Funeral Home in Elgin. These two poems are from his writing collection. As I prepared for this day I felt strongly led to locate them. And I stood before those in attendance that evening, and read. My son as he penned these words did not know almost 7 years later, they would be chosen and spoken just feet away from his coffin. *I slightly edited both and searching for a title for the second.


INTO THE WILD

By: Joshua Baez

Oct 14, 2015


I live a life of joy and happiness,

I once thought.

Prosperity and luxuries,

That could give me a lot.

Though dreams all these were,

Now I see the reality.

A bitter Earth...

As cold and despair runs through my veins,

I realize now this is all my own pain.

Something you would call karma,

Unfortunate in every way.

Now my life ends and for once I will pray…


UNTITLED

By: Joshua Baez

Oct 27, 2015


Once there was a wondrous bird that lived through the sky

An olive colored condor unique as it flies

People of old thought it as doctrine

I don’t get why something so hideous was so idolizing

The wonder of centuries

Made into a forgotten apostle

Don’t worry about the memories

That novel is just another fossil

As frosty as can be, this rhyme you just can’t believe

In this office of mine I would’ve never made a dime

As I’m about to travel time into a lozenge

A capsule for time

I swear I’ll bring solid proof that this bird is anything but a fairytale


*Don't forget to share, like and comment. And if you have title ideas I am open to suggestions. I truly appreciate your time. Thank you.


bottom of page