top of page

Father's Day, My Dad

What are your favorite memories with your father? Or a special man in your life who is or was like a father to you?


Growing up in New Jersey, I remember my brother and I anxiously waiting for our dad to come home from work. As soon as we heard the door knob turning we ran to greet him and jump in his arms. On one of those nights, he came home with a surprise, a cat he had rescued. We named him Morris because he looked EXACTLY like Morris the cat from TV commercials; orange and white striped. We always wanted a cat but my dad didn't care much for having pets.


I also remember when there was a bake sale at the school or I had an order of Scholastic books I really wanted, I would leave a note for my dad asking him for money. Before he would go to work the next day, he would leave cash on the note for me.


He would take us out to eat mostly on the weekends. Of course the most familiar was McDonald's, a kids favorite- the Happy Meal. We would eat at Pizza Hut and Red Lobster (a treat). But my absolute favorite experience was eating in Spanish restaurants. I would order Congri (Cuban black beans and rice) with grilled steak and peppers, avocado on the side. My all time favorite drink was a Mamey shake (a tropical fruit grown in the Caribbean). And in New York City, he would grab us empanadas (fried turnover filled with beef, chicken or cheese) from the street vendors.


On Sundays, his day off, sometimes he would make his famous banana shake, adding a special ingredient, one cookie! So yummy! I have followed in his steps and make it for my kids with an improved recipe (a spoonful of peanut butter, a dash of cinnamon, nut milk and oatmeal).


I was very close to my dad growing up. I admired him. I was daddy's little girl after all. He would have a banana on the side of his plate of rice and beans and I would follow along right with him. I also would sit right beside him and watch a game of football. Our favorite team was the NY Giants. I loved watching the Superbowl! There was one favorite scene I will never forget; Dave Meggett was short but fast, he was #30 and the Giants running back. One of the Superbowls he ran across the field pass the defense, holding on to the ball. Touchdown! It was awesome! Now baseball I would say maybe is his favorite sport. I never liked watching it on TV, it was BORING! But when our family got together in NYC and played baseball it was always fun!


Vacation was also important to my dad. We would go to amusement parks, lakes, and camping at Breezewood Acres in the Poconos. On our way to the Poconos when the roads got hilly he sped up and once we got to the top of the hill, we would hit the inside roof of the car with our heads from how high the car would jump. Felt like a roller coaster. It was exciting!


Another memory I have with my dad was driving through Breezewood Acres. It was snowing one night and there were deer on the side of the road, near where the park was. It was a beautiful wintery scene.


These are old memories from my youth. The last one I have to share is from my Sweet 16th Birthday, the father and daughter dance. He held onto me soooooo tightly, I felt I could pop! All of his love came through his embrace. After that day, our lives would change forever.


There have been very few since then in my adult life. But... not the same as it was. I have missed my father. His presence in my life. His attention. His engagement. Interest in me... and any in his grandchildren. I learned to accept him as he is today but a daughter's longing for a relationship with her father, no matter how old you are, will never go away.


A Letter to my Father:

"To the first man in my life to love and cherish me even for a season. To the first man in my life for me to also love and admire. Thank you dad for always being a responsible, protective, hardworking, and determined father. Thank you for purposing to do everything you had to do even at such a young age, to fight to have your daughter and soon to be wife, my mother, under your care. I know it didn't come easy for you. But I will always be grateful to you for never giving up on having your family. I know things are not the same today but I still hope for a day it will be even better than it ever was. I love you dad. Happy Father's Day!"


My Dad and I in New York 1978-79

My Dad and I in 2009-10 in Aberdeen Maryland


*Photographer is unnamed.


Author's note: Click on links for traditional recipes found online, website of place visited in my youth and/or for more information. Please share your memories with me and if you do try these recipes let me know what you think.



bottom of page