top of page

2 WEEKS & 4 DAYS...AND COUNTING ~ I STILL AM CRYING, MISS HER TERRIBLY

No one can truly understand the bond that we form with our cats we love until they experience the loss of one. ~ Unknown

It has been 2 weeks and 4 days and counting... I still cry every single day. I miss her terribly. And this weekend, I had to send my twins back home to Maryland, our time cut short due to a family emergency.


Some ask me, "Are you still sad?" How can I not be still sad? It has only been 2 weeks (I repeat) and 4 days! That is a very short amount of time.


I am grateful for strangers I have connected with, who are either currently going through a similar loss or have already experienced it a time ago. We find comfort in one another: In relating and sharing and supporting our journeys. Here are links to these Facebook groups I have found and recommend to you:


The Rainbow Bridge Pet Loss and Grief Support https://www.facebook.com/groups/423903057974943


Pet Grief & Loss Support (Heavenly Pets)


Grieving Pet Loss Support Group.


Last Wednesday... after work, we got Junebug's ashes. The very minute I received the call from the Vet's office night before, I broke down after I heard the receptionist say, we have her ashes. It felt just like the day she breathed her last! All the emotions came rushing back as if I had just lost her. That same day when we received her ashes, my kids were to be sent back home. By God's grace, I believe, as we entered the car and got ready to drive off, I received a text that their flights were cancelled. How our spirits lifted! We smiled, laughed and jumped for joy! My husband knew it wouldn't be good for me not only to just get her ashes and then to send my other two away, back to Maryland. God also knew. He looked out for us. For me. God extended their stay by just a few days but it was just what we needed.


The days do get easier. I do get stronger. I continue to get up, get living... but she is constantly in my thoughts. And by the end of the day of striving to thrive, without anyone noticing... I cry myself to sleep. I miss her so terribly. But even still, I accept God's will. I lean on my faith for everything I need to go on without her. Does anyone agree? Relate? Please comment and share and send me a message. Thanks to those who have done so. I greatly appreciate every single one of you for reaching out to me.


Job 12:10 (New International Version) "In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind."






The memories and paw print of a beloved cat remains in our heart and soul forever. ~ Unknown

The day of the 2 weeks mark, in the mail there was a surprise package. My best friend of 20 years sent in honor of our loss, our Junebug: a Peace Lily from https://planterina.com/


Lilies represent sympathy and rebirth; a new beginning.


bottom of page