top of page

MY LIFE LESSON & HER LAST DAYS- JOIN THE CAUSE, SAVE LIVES


THE QUESTION, MY LIFE LESSON & HER LAST DAYS...


On Friday at work, my manager asked our team this question:


"What life lesson have you learned recently?"

For me, since Junebug passing, I have been reminded of this lesson and with intent, am learning it:


Life is short. Cherish every moment. The time we have is now. - Marcy B.

I think about the week before she left us. She was (at least we thought) her usual self. Yes she was more quiet, we noticed. But we assumed it was her medication Methimazole working to manage her hyperthyroidism; which caused her anxiety and stress.


She spent time with us...actually even more (perhaps she knew her time was near and she prepared by saying her goodbyes). When we gathered around the dining table for dinner one night laughing and sharing together, she was right there with us; a part of our family time. This was one of our last precious moments with her.


She also was her usual mischievous self; climbing on the counters, table and scavenging for food in the sink (a symptom of hyperthyroidism too).


HER LAST PHOTO, SOUTH ELGIN IL, SUNDAY JULY 25TH 2021

CAMERA: IPHONE 7 COURTESY OF: BLESSING A. (MY DAUGHTER)


Then... she stopped.


She was distant. Slept more. Walked differently. Ate less. Until.. .she couldn't eat at all or even drink.


These were her last days. But we seen her this way before and hoped she was just sick and would get back to health soon. We'd take her to see a vet and they'd hydrate her and give her antibiotics. Then place her on a bland diet. Within a week, she would fully recover.


But this time, felt different. I knew deep down in my gut. I shared a moment with her as she lay beside me on my bed. I pet her and wept. I prayed. The thought losing her I felt, I could not bare.


But on the third day, we did just as we have done before. Took her in to see a vet. Followed the same protocol, minus the lab work. Doctor too was optimistic she'd get back to normal. They even took her vitals. How was this missed??? How could they not tell she was dying???


As soon as we left the clinic, she seemed to be feeling better. She cried the way back home.

She hated car rides. But she had a little bit more energy. We thought for sure she was on her way to recovering and will eat. Any sign of drowsiness I took as a symptom of Convenia, the antibiotic shot.


But... I was wrong.


Early next morning, I awoke (of barely any sleep from worry) to her in the dining room by a cold vent (very unusual). She looked much worst. She was breathing heavily and cried out to me (perhaps pleading for help). She could barely walk.


I tried to encourage feeding and drinking. She stood looking at her bowls and couldn't do it. It was devastating to watch her. The hardest thing I have had to go through. I felt hopeless.


There was no help. No hospital to rush her to. No 911 to call to get immediate attention. It was 6am... I had to literally wait until the vet office opened at 8am to call. Even then, they couldn't see her until 2pm! I knew this would be too long. It would be too late to save her. Yet no matter how many times I called pleading for help. There was nothing they could do.


I felt utterly hopeless. Broken. Expecting the inevitable but hoping for a miracle.


Have you felt this way before? Did you lose your furrbaby because there was no help, no emergency assistance available to save them?


In her last hours... she stumbled walking from the dining room through the living room...stopping several times to regain strength to get up and walk. She even tried going into her litter box! She made it past the hallway, into my bedroom and underneath my dresser. Into hiding. I would check in on her few times... she was still breathing.


I called my best friend. We prayed. I cried. But still... our prayers were, "God's will be done."


Was it in that very moment she breathed her last?


When we hung up, I made a call and prepared to take her to her appt, but when I checked her...


This time...


I saw no movement. No breathing heavily. I couldn't do this.


I called out to my daughter to please check. But I knew... she was gone.


We cried out in anguish. The pain so deep. All my kids wept loudly and deeply, gathered around her... together holding her. This pain, I would not want anyone to experience. Knowing that just maybe she could have been spared. If there was help.


Her possible cause of death: heart


Even still...my spirit knew.. this...was...God's...will.


I must accept it. There's a purpose in all of it. And we hope through our loss, in honor of her memory, we can save a life. Help a family. Make a difference.


No one should feel as hopeless as we did. There is no reason our animal friends/family cannot have immediate attention available.


JOIN A CAUSE, SAVE LIVES

“Allow your clouded mind to settle and your course becomes clear.” - Vet Care Express Quote in Story

We must do something about this. And if you agree I encourage you to join in supporting to make a change with us. Find an organization in your area or across the world that it's sole mission is to provide emergency help to save our furrbabies. To give them a fighting chance.


See list of organizations I found that are doing just that:


Article I found but having trouble actually locating the company. If you find it please share.


AmbuVet Pet Ambulance (New York)


Animal Ambulance of Southern California (California)


Vet Care Express Animal Ambulance (Bradenton, Florida)


Pet EMT Animal Ambulance and Transport Service (Raleigh, North Carolina)



Squad 51 (Cleveland, Ohio) see article below


CARE Pet Ambulance (Clearwater, Florida)


So now...I ask you this question:


WHAT HAS LIFE TAUGHT YOU?


I want to hear from you. Share the lessons you have learned or are learning. What advice can you share with others?


Don't forget to like the post, read the related posts, share and comment! Thanks for reading.


bottom of page